Research Learning Series (RLS) - IRB Submission Process

  • Picture1

    Lynn P. Roppolo, MD

    John Peter Smith Health Network

    Dr. Roppolo is a retired Professor of Emergency Medicine from the University of Texas Southwestern (UTSW) and is currently core faculty and the Assistant Ultrasound Director at John Peter Smith Hospital in Fort Worth Texas. She is an Adjunct Professor at the University of North Texas and Texas Christian University. She is a Senior Editor for the Journal of Emergency Medicine and has published numerous peer reviewed papers as first or senior author. She has assisted with coordinating the Research Learning Series for the last two years. Her scholarly and research interests involve anything related to ultrasound and managing acutely agitated patients to reduce physical assaults on ED staff. She is a graduate of the University of California, San Diego School of Medicine, did her emergency medicine residency at the George Washington University and an emergency ultrasound fellowship at UTSW after being part of the residency leadership for 15 years. 
  • malik-adrienne

    Adrienne N. Malik, MD

    Director, Research Training

    The University of Kansas Medical Center

    Dr. Malik is an Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine (EM) at the University of Kansas Medical Center (KUMC) in Kansas City, KS, and is a core faculty member of the KU EM residency program. She received her MD from Saba University and completed her EM residency and ultrasound fellowship at DMC Sinai Grace Hospital in Detroit, MI. She currently serves as the Director of Research Training for the Department of Emergency Medicine, which includes overseeing trainee research projects and the bimonthly resident research workshop. Dr. Malik currently serves as PI for multiple investigator-initiated and industry-funded studies at KUMC and has been a member of the KU HSC IRB since 2020.
  • Mark-Myck

    Mark Mycyk, MD

    Rush Medical College

    Dr. Mycyk is currently a Professor of Emergency Medicine at Rush Medical College, Chair of Research in the Department of Emergency Medicine at Cook County Health, and Vice Chair of the Cook County Health IRB.  He completed his MD at the University of Illinois, residency at Boston City Hospital and Boston Medical Center, fellowship in Medical Toxicology at Cook County Hospital, and a degree in Clinical Bioethics at Northwestern University.  He has been an editorial board member at Academic Emergency Medicine since 2003 and leads their Resident Editor program.  His research focuses on publication ethics, use of novel antidotes for toxicologic overdoses, and implementation of acupuncture as an opioid sparing analgesia strategy in the ED.
  • Paxton

    James Paxton, MD, MBA

    Associate Professor and Director of Clinical Research

    Detroit Receiving Hospital / Wayne State University

    Dr. Paxton is an Associate Professor and Director of Clinical Research for Detroit Receiving Hospital / Wayne State University Department of Emergency Medicine, and currently serves as Chairman of the SAEM Research Committee (2021-2024). He received both his MD and MBA degrees from the University of Cincinnati (Cincinnati, OH), and completed EM residency training at Henry Ford Hospital (Detroit, MI). Dr. Paxton has served as core academic faculty for the EM residencies at both Sinai-Grace Hospital and Detroit Receiving Hospital since 2011, and has mentored hundreds of medical students and residents at Wayne State University during that time. He is an active clinical researcher and has served as PI for numerous industry- and publicly-funded trials. He is the editor of several books on emergency medicine topics, and is a recognized expert and invited speaker for many regional, national and international lectures on emergent vascular access, cardiac arrest, and emergent resuscitation.