Emerging Leader Development Program (eLEAD)

Status: CLOSED

Deadline: January 15, 2023

The Association of Academic Chairs in Emergency Medicine (AACEM) and the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM) are proud to offer the Emerging Leader Development Program (eLEAD). This year-long course provides emerging leaders in academic emergency medicine with a structured, longitudinal experience designed to develop foundational leadership skills, cultivate a meaningful career network, and build a bridge to countless opportunities in their field.   

The ideal candidate for this course is an emergency medicine faculty member at least five years post residency completion with experience from an existing or past mid-level leadership position, such as Assistant/Associate/new Medical Director, Assistant/Associate/new Program Director, or an institutional/regional/national service leadership position.

The year-long course will begin at the SAEM23 Annual Meeting, which takes place May 16-19, 2023 in Austin, Texas. Monthly didactic sessions and interactive discussions will follow, and the course's final session will be celebrated at SAEM24.

Course Fee: $1,450

The course fee includes tuition and meals for in-person workshops. Travel costs and accommodations are the responsibility of the participants.

Course Schedule

November 30, 2022

Applications open 

January 15, 2023

Applications deadline 

March 1, 2023

Notifications sent to applicants 

May 16, 2023

Kickoff meeting at SAEM23 in Austin, TX

June, 2023 - April, 2024

Monthly online lectures and discussion 

May 14, 2024

Course capstone at SAEM24 in Phoenix, AZ