John Marx Leadership Award

Nominations Now: Closed

SAEM seeks nominations for the John Marx Leadership Award. This award honors a SAEM member who has made exceptional contributions to emergency medicine through leadership – locally, regionally, nationally or internationally – with priority given to those with demonstrated leadership within SAEM. The Awards Committee wishes to consider as many exceptional candidates as possible. The awards committee is committed to an inclusive process of granting awards, reflecting the full spectrum of diversity of our membership. We encourage you to nominate a diverse pool of candidates for all SAEM awards.



Previous awardees are ineligible. Candidates are evaluated on their leadership contributions including (but not limited to) those related to:

  • Major leadership positions within SAEM
  • Major leadership positions within other EM organizations
  • Leadership in research
  • Leadership in education
  • Contributions to the growth of academic emergency medicine
  • Advancement of emergency medicine regionally, nationally or internationally


Nominations may be submitted by any SAEM member. Nominations should include a copy of the candidate's CV and a cover letter describing his or her qualifications. Each completed application must include the following:

  • A current CV of the candidate
  • A brief (1- 2 paragraph) biographical summary
  • A cover letter by the nominator addressing the above areas and the impact on emergency medicine (limited to 2 pages)
  • While not mandatory, a maximum of 2 additional support letters may be submitted (each limited to 2 pages).
  • A color photo of nominee (.jpg 300 DPI high resolution)
  • Person nominating award candidate (include mailing address, phone and fax numbers and email address)
  • Contact information of department administrator or media persons that should be notified if the award is received.



  • Andy Jagoda headshot_color_low res (1)

    Andy S. Jagoda, MD

    Professor and Chair Emeritus

    Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

    Andy Jagoda, MD is Professor and Chair Emeritus of Emergency Medicine (EM) at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai. He trained at Georgetown University and completed his emergency medicine residency in 1987. He spent 13 years in the Navy serving in Desert Shield / Desert Storm for which he received a Navy Commendation Medal for “meritorious service”. He came to Mount Sinai in 1995 and has been instrumental in building the Department into one of the leading programs in the country. Dr. Jagoda is nationally recognized for his involvement in EM education, and for his work in the area of neurologic emergencies and practice guideline development. He has co-edited or authored nine books including Rosen’s Textbook; has authored 83 peer reviewed publications and 56 book chapters. He is the Editor-in-chief of a NLM indexed, monthly publication, Emergency Medicine Practice. Dr. Jagoda is a member of the Executive Committee of the Brain Attack Coalition at the NINDS and on the advisory board of the Brain Trauma Foundation (BTF). He Chairs the Credentialing Committee for the NFL’s Airway Management Physician Program, and he co-coordinates the NFL’s Visiting Team Medical Liaison program. Internationally, Dr. Jagoda has been involved in the development of emergency medicine in Italy and Holland. He was inducted as a "Master Educator" into the Mount Sinai Institute for Medical Education in 2009; received the 2011 Mount Sinai Alumni Association "Achievement in Medical Education" award; in 2011 he was presented with the NYACEP “Physician of the Year Award”; in 2015 he received a Mount Sinai Alumni Jacobi Medallion; in 2017 he received the “Distinguished Service Award” from AACEM; and in 2018 he received the “Philanthrophy Award” from SAEMF.


December 9, 2022