Academic Emergency Medicine Editorial Board


Senior Editors 


Jeffrey A. Kline, MD, Indiana University School of Medicine

Deputy Editor

Christopher R. Carpenter, MD, MSC, Washington University

Senior Associate Editor for Electronic Publishing

James R. Miner, MD, Hennepin County Medical Center

Senior Associate Editor for Global Emergency Medicine

Mark Hauswald, MD, University of New Mexico

Senior Associate Editor for Health Communication

Zachary F. Meisel, MD, MD MPH MSHP, University of Pennsylvania

Senior Associate Editor for Palliative Care

Tammie E. Quest, MD, Emory University

Senior Statistical Editor

Craig D. Newgard, MD, MPH, Oregon Health & Science University

Senior Associate Editor for Education & Correspondence Editor

John H. Burton, MD, Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine

Senior Associate Editor for Social Media

Ken Milne, MD, MSC, South Huron Hospital Association 

Associate Editors

  • Elizabeth Alpern, MD, MSCE, Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
  • Harrison J. Alter, MD, MS, Highland Hospital - Alameda Health System
  • Brigitte M. Baumann, MD, MSCE, Cooper University Hospital
  • Steven B. Bird, MD, University of Massachusetts Medical School

  • Jeffrey M. Caterino, MD, MPH, The Ohio State University
  • Anne Marie Chang, MD, Thomas Jefferson University Hospitals
  • Robert Cloutier, MD, MCR, Oregon Health & Science University

  • Wendy C. Coates, MD, Harbor-UCLA Medical Center
  • D. Mark Courtney, MD, MSCI, Northwestern University
  • Nicole M. Deiorio, MD, 
Virginia Commonwealth University 
  • Deborah B. Diercks, MD, MSC, The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
  • Richard T. Griffey, MD, MPH, Washington University

  • Kennon Heard, MD, PhD, University of Colorado School of Medicine

  • Erik P. Hess MD, MSC, Mayo Clinic
  • Brian C. Hiestand, MD, MPH, Wake Forest University

  • J. Stephen Huff, MD, University of Virginia
  • Ula Hwang, MD, MPH, Mount Sinai School of Medicine
  • Timothy B. Jang, MD, Harbor-UCLA Medical Center
  • Damon Kuehl, MD, Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine
  • Michelle L. Macy, MD, MS, University of Michigan
  • Alice Mitchell, MD, Indiana University School of Medicine
  • Peter D. Panagos, MD, Washington University
  • Jesse Pines, MD, MBA, MSCE, The George Washington University

  • Robert F. Reardon, MD, Hennepin County Medical Center

  • Michael S. Runyon, MD, MPH, Carolinas Medical Center
  • Stephen W. Smith, MD, Hennepin County Medical Center
  • Michelle D. Stevenson, MD, MS, University of Louisville
  • Daniel L. Theodoro, MD, MSCI, Washington University

  • Kabir Yadav, MDCM, MS, MSHS, Harbor-UCLA Medical Center
  • Lalena M. Yarris, MD, MCR, Oregon Health & Science University
  • Shahriar Zehtabchi, MD, State University of 
New York

  • Mark R. Zonfrillo, MD, MSCE, Alpert Medical School of Brown University


Resident Editor

  • Diane Kuhn, MD, University of Maryland
  • Joshua Lupton, MD, Oregon Health and Science University

Twitter Manager

  • Matthew Klein, MD, MPH, Northwestern University

Department Editors

  • Shellie L. Asher, MD, The Biros Section on Research Ethics, Albany Medical College Albany 
  • Mark B. Mycyk, MD, Director, Resident Member of the Editorial Board Program, Cook County Hospital
  • Corey R. Heitz, MD
, CME & PeRLs Editor, Lewis Gale Medical Center
  • Peter E. Sokolove, MD, Media Reviews, Medicine University of California, San Francisco
  • Brian Zink, MD, 
Reflections, Brown University

Editor of Infographics

  • Kirsty Challen, BSc, MBChB, MRes, PhD, Lancashire Teaching Hospitals

Associate Social Media Editor

  • Michael Gottlieb, MD, RDMS, Rush University Medical Center