Wellness, Inclusion, Diversity, Equity: The Wide and the Why...That is the Question (ADIEM, AWAEM, and SAEM Wellness Committee Sponsored)

  • Sheryl L. Heron, MD, MPH

  • Ava Pierce, MD

    Associate Professor, Associate Chair of Diversity and Inclusion

    UT Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas

    Ava E. Pierce, MD, FACEP completed her undergraduate degree at Louisiana State University and earned her medical degree at Louisiana State University School of Medicine at Shreveport. She completed an emergency medicine residency at Emory University School of Medicine. Dr. Pierce is the Associate Chair of Diversity and Inclusion for the Department of Emergency Medicine at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center and an Emergency Medicine attending at Parkland Health and Hospital Systems. She is the Director of the Emergency Medicine Research Associate Program and the Co-Director of the Joint Admission Medical Program (JAMP) at UT Southwestern. She also serves as a member of UT Southwestern Medical Center’s Medical School Admissions Committee and is a faculty liaison for Housestaff Emerging Academy of Leaders (HEAL), which focuses on professional development and mentoring for residents and fellows from under-represented groups. Her research interests include medical education, diversity and inclusion, and cardiac resuscitation. She completed the Medical Education Research Certificate (MERC) Program and the AAMC s Healthcare Executive Diversity and Inclusion Certificate Program and is committed to making innovative changes that will enhance diversity and inclusion and improve excellence in health care, thus strengthening a diverse workforce that will provide culturally competent quality medical care to all. She served as the President for the Academy for Diversity and Inclusion in Emergency Medicine (ADIEM), in 2018 – 2019.
  • Dowin Boatright, MD, MBA, MHS

  • Michelle Lall, MD

    Emory University

    Dr. Lall, a board-certified emergency medicine physician, is an Associate Professor at Emory University. She has been faculty at Emory since 2013 and served as an Associate Residency Director at Emory from 2013-2020. She continues to be the Director of the Medical Education Fellowship in Emergency Medicine. Prior to coming to Emory, Dr. Lall was an Assistant Professor at Wayne State University beginning in 2008. Dr. Lall is actively involved in graduate medical education, education research and scholarship, resident and faculty wellness and well-being. Additionally, she is interested in microaggressions and bias in medicine. Dr. Lall is the inaugural Director of Well-being, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion. She has been a leader in the Academy for Women in Academic Emergency Medicine since 2012. Her professional memberships include: American College of Emergency Physicians – where she is a fellow, Society for Academic Emergency Physicians – where she is a member at large on the Board of Directors, Academy for Women in Academic Emergency Medicine – where she is a past president. Dr. Lall is a recipient of the Momentum Award from the Academy for Women in Academic Emergency Medicine (AWAEM), which recognizes extraordinary efforts that further the mission and values of AWAEM. Dr. Lall has been recognized as a "Faculty Teacher of the Year" and “Resident Advocate” award winner.
  • Melissa Parsons, MD

    Melissa Erin Parsons, MD

    University of Florida