SAEM Organizational Advancement Award


The SAEM Organizational Advancement Award honors an SAEM member that has made significant contributions to programs, services, or leadership within the Society that has advanced the mission and trajectory of SAEM. The Executive Committee of SAEM will nominate 2-3 candidates each year for the award. The SAEM Board of Directors will select the award recipient from the pool of nominees. The award will be presented at the SAEM Annual Meeting each year.



Previous awardees are ineligible. Candidates are evaluated on their leadership and contributions including (but not limited to) those related to:

  • Major leadership positions held within SAEM
  • Leadership in programs or services within SAEM
  • Contributions to advance the Society’s strategic plan
  • Contributions to the growth of the Society
  • Stewardship of the SAEM mission and achievement thereof



Nominations may be submitted by a member of the SAEM Executive Committee. Nominations should include:

  • A brief (1- 2 paragraph) biographical summary
  • A cover letter by the nominator addressing the above areas and the impact on emergency medicine (limited to 2 pages)


Nominations may be sent to the SAEM CEO, Megan Schagrin, MBA, CAE, CFRE, at



  • Marquita S. Norman, MD, MBA

    Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine / Chair, SAEM Finance Committee

    UT Southwestern Medical Center

    Marquita S. Norman, MD, MBA is an Associate Professor and serves as the Associate Vice-Chair of Health Equity, Quality and Safety in the Department of Emergency Medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center.  She currently serves as chair of the SAEM Finance Committee and a member of the SAEMF Board of Trustees.  She is a past chair of the Equity and Inclusion Committee and past president of the Academy for Diversity and Inclusion in Emergency Medicine.  She completed her internship at Howard University and residency training at the University of Michigan.   She completed her MBA from the Collat School of Business at UAB.  Her work has been centered around healthcare workforce diversity and inclusion efforts involving K-16 pathways programs and development of opportunities for undergraduate and graduate medical education.  Dr. Norman’s professional and community interests include health equity, health care workforce diversity, medical education, and communication skills.


Nominations Not Accepted for this Award