Board of Trustees


The SAEM Foundation board trustees is a governing body that jointly oversees the activities of the Foundation.

The trustees:

•    Serve as trusted advisors to the CEO as s/he develops and implements SAEM Foundation’s strategic plan 
•    Reviews outcomes and metrics created by SAEM Foundation for evaluating its impact, and regularly measuring its performance and effectiveness using those metrics; reviews agenda and supports materials prior to board and committee meetings 
•    Approves SAEM Foundation’s annual budget, audit reports, and material business decisions; is informed of, and meeting all, legal and fiduciary responsibilities 
•    Contributes to an annual performance evaluation of the CEO 
•    Assists the CEO and board chair in identifying and recruiting other Board Members 
•    Partners with the CEO and other board members to ensure that board resolutions are carried out 
•    Serves on committees or task forces and taking on special assignments 
•    Represents SAEM Foundation to stakeholders; acting as an ambassador for the organization 
•    Ensures SAEM Foundation’s commitment to a diverse board and staff that reflects the communities SAEM Foundation serves



Michelle Blanda, MD, Northeast Ohio Medical University / Western Reserve Hospital / Academic and Community Emergency Specialists


Gregory A. Volturo, MD, University of Massachusetts Medical School


J. Scott VanEpps, MD, PhD, University of Michigan

Immediate Past President

Cherri Hobgood, MD, Indiana University


Jill M. Baren, MD, MBA, Penn Medicine

Robert S. Hockberger, MD, Los Angeles County-Harbor-UCLA Medical Center

Louis Ling, MD, Hennepin County Medical Center

Roland Clayton Merchant, MD, Brigham & Womens Hospital/Harvard Medical School

Ali S. Raja, MD, MBA, MPH, Massachusetts General Hospital

Manish N. Shah, MD, MPH, University of Wisconsin

David P. Sklar, MD, University of New Mexico School of Medicine

Joseph Adrian Tyndall, MD, University of Florida, Gainesville

Brian J. Zink, MD, University of Michigan

SAEM Grants Committee Chair

Nicholas Mohr, MD, MS, University of Iowa

SAEM Finance Committee Chair

Kevin Kotkowski, MD, University of Massachusetts Medical School

SAEM President

Ian B.K. Martin, MD, MBA, Medical College of Wisconsin

SAEM President-Elect

James F. Holmes, Jr., MD, MPH, University of California, Davis

SAEM Secretary-Treasurer

Amy Kaji, MD, PhD, Los Angeles County-Harbor-UCLA Medical Center

SAEM Past President

Steven B. Bird, MD, University of Massachusetts Medical School

Chief Executive Officer

Megan Schagrin, MBA, SAEM and SAEM Foundation

Director, Foundation and Business Development

Melissa McMillian, CNP, SAEM and SAEM Foundation