2022-2023 SAEMF Board of Trustees

The SAEM Foundation board trustees is a governing body that jointly oversees the activities of the Foundation. Contact foundation@saem.org to learn more about service on the Board of Trustees.

The trustees:

  • Serve as trusted advisors to the CEO as s/he develops and implements SAEM Foundation's strategic plan 
  • Reviews outcomes and metrics created by SAEM Foundation for evaluating its impact, and regularly measuring its performance and effectiveness using those metrics; reviews agenda and supports materials prior to board and committee meetings
  • Approves SAEM Foundation's annual budget, audit reports, and material business decisions; is informed of, and meeting all, legal and fiduciary responsibilities 
  • Contributes to an annual performance evaluation of the CEO 
  • Assists the CEO and board chair in identifying and recruiting other Board Members 
  • Partners with the CEO and other board members to ensure that board resolutions are carried out 
  • Serves on committees or task forces and taking on special assignments 
  • Represents SAEM Foundation to stakeholders; acting as an ambassador for the organization
  • Ensures SAEM Foundation's commitment to a diverse board and staff that reflects the communities SAEM Foundation serves


SAEM 2021-2022 Foundation Board of Trustees

  • President-Brian J. Zink, MD, University of Michigan Medical School
  • President-Elect- Joseph Adrian Tyndall, MD, MPH, University of Florida Health
  • Secretary-Treasurer-Manish N. Shah, MD, MPH, University of Wisconsin, School of Medicine and Public Health
  • Immediate Past President-Gregory A. Volturo, MD,University of Massachusetts Medical School
  • Members-at-Large
    • Steven L. Bernstein, MD, Yale School of Medicine
    • Michelle Blanda, MD-Northeast Ohio Medical University, Western Reserve Hospital, Academic and Community Emergency Specialists
    • Cherri D. Hobgood, MD, Indiana University
    • Robert S. Hockberger, MD, Harbor-UCLA Medical Center
    • James J. McCarthy, MD, Memorial Hermann Health System
    • Roland Clayton Merchant, MD, MPH, ScD, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
    • Susan B. Promes, MD, MBA, Penn State Health
    • David P. Sklar, MD, Arizona State University
    • J. Scott VanEpps, MD, PhD, University of Michigan
  • SAEM Grants Committee Chair- Nicholas M. Mohr, MD, MS, University of Iowa
  • SAEM Finance Committee Chair- Christopher Bennett, MD, MA, Stanford University, Department of Emergency Medicine
  • SAEM President- Amy H. Kaji, MD, PhD, Harbor-UCLA Medical Center
  • SAEM President-Elect- Angela M. Mills, MD, Columbia University, College of Physicians and Surgeons
  • SAEM Secretary-Treasurer-Wendy C. Coates, MD, Los Angeles County Harbor-UCLA Medical Center
  • SAEM Immediate Past President-James F. Holmes, Jr., MD, MPH, University of California, Davis