Executive Committee


Introducing Your 2021-2022 ADIEM Leadership

ADIEM is pleased to present your ADIEM leadership for 2021-2022. Congratulations to the newly installed ADIEM Executive Committee. The 2021-2022 ADIEM Executive Committee officially assumed office effective with the SAEM21 Virtual Annual Meeting in May. 

Alden Landry, MD, MPHAlden Landry, MD, MPH

Alden M. Landry, MD, MPH, is an Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine physician at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Assistant Dean for the Office for Diversity Inclusion and Community Partnership, Associate Director and Advisor for William B. Castle Society, and Director of Health Equity Education at Harvard Medical School. He also is the founder and co-director of the non-profit organization Motivating Pathways. Dr. Landry received his Bachelor of Science degree from Prairie View A&M University in 2002 and his medical degree from the University of Alabama Birmingham School of Medicine in 2006. He completed his residency in Emergency Medicine at the Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center in 2009. In 2010, he earned a Master’s in Public Health degree from the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health and completed the Commonwealth Fund Fellowship in Minority Health Policy at Harvard University.

Edgar Ordonez, MD, MPEdgar Ordonez, MD, MP

Edgar Ordonez, MD, MPH is an academic faculty member at the Baylor College of Medicine (BCM) with a dual appointment in the Departments of Emergency Medicine and Medicine. My current leadership positions include being the Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion of the Henry JN Taub Department of Emergency Medicine and Assistant Program Director for the Emergency Medicine Residency. Dr. Ordonez attended medical school at the University of Medicine & Dentistry of New Jersey- New Jersey Medical School, where he completed his Doctor of Medicine and Master’s in Public Health degrees. He then did a combined emergency medicine and internal medicine residency at Christiana Care Health System. After completing his residency, Dr. Ordonez became an academic faculty member at the Baylor College of Medicine (BCM) with a dual appointment in the Departments of Emergency Medicine and Medicine. My current leadership positions include being the Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion of the Henry JN Taub Department of Emergency Medicine and Assistant Program Director for the Emergency Medicine Residency. My previous involvement with SAEM has been with ADIEM in the Membership Committee Chair's role from 2019-2020, ADIEM Member-at-Large from 2020-2021.

Cassandra Bradby, MDCassandra Bradby, MD
Dr. Cassandra Bradby is an EM physician and Assistant Professor at Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University. As a graduate of Meharry Medical College in Nashville, TN, she has dedicated her career to improving diversity and inclusion in medicine through mentoring and education. After finishing up as the Education Chief Resident at SUNY Downstate in Brooklyn, NY, Dr. Bradby headed back south to Greenville, NC where she now serves as the Residency Program Director and Vice Chair for Diversity and Inclusion for the Department of Emergency Medicine at Vidant Medical Center.


Jeff Druck, MDJeff Druck, MD
Immediate Past President

Dr. Jeff Druck grew up in Houston but moved to Colorado for residency in Emergency Medicine at Denver Health. As Associate Program Director, he co-founded the Denver Health Diversity Committee, pioneering recruiting efforts of diverse residents which have served as a road map for residencies in all specialties. Currently, he serves at the University of Colorado as Assistant Dean of Student Affairs and Co-Director of the Office of Professional Excellence, and current president of the Academy for Diversity and Inclusion for Emergency Medicine; however, his most important role is as a father to four children, where he sometimes does admirably and other times comes in under the bar.

Al'ai Alvarez, MDAl'ai Alvarez, MD
Al'ai Alvarez, MD is an assistant clinical professor in Emergency Medicine and an assistant program director in the Stanford Emergency Medicine Residency Program. Dr. Alvarez focuses on the interdependence of residency wellbeing with performance improvement on patient experience, quality and patient safety, diversity, equity and inclusion, and medical education. Dr. Alvarez serves as the co-chair of the Stanford WellMD's Physician Wellness Forum and is one of the peer supporters for WellMD's Physician Resource Network (PRN) Support for faculty and trainees. Dr. Alvarez co-chairs the largest diversity mentoring initiative in Emergency Medicine through ACEP and EMRA. Dr. Alvarez has given several grand rounds and national conference lectures and workshops on relevant topics in gratitude and compassion, physician wellbeing, burnout, the imposter syndrome, as well as increasing leadership capacity and mentorship to enhance diversity and inclusion. Dr. Alvarez works on recruitment in faculty, graduate, and undergraduate medical education with a particular interest in finding ways to increase diversity, equity, and inclusion in medicine.


Renee C. Johnson, MD, MPH
Renee C. Johnson, MD, MPH

Dr. Johnson completed her undergraduate work with majors in Biology and Psychology at Duke University. She then went on to obtain her Doctor of Medicine degree from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, in addition to a Masters in Public Health at UNC as well. Dr. Johnson completed her residency training in Emergency Medicine via Emory University at Grady Hospital, prior to returning to her hometown of Houston for an EMS fellowship at UT Health Science Center and the Houston Fire Department. Dr. Johnson is currently serving as Interim Medical Director for Deer Park EMS and Harris Health EMS. Her interests are centered around the interaction of global health, public health and EMS.



Jason Rotoli, MD

Jason Rotoli, MD attended medical school from 2005-2009 and completed his residency training from 2009-2012 at the University of Buffalo in Buffalo, NY. He was elected to Alpha Omega Alpha during medical school and elected as Chief Resident in 2011-2012. Dr. Rotoli is currently an Assistant Professor of Emergency medicine and the Associate Residency Director of the Emergency Medicine residency at the University of Rochester in Rochester, NY. In 2017, he was hired as the Director of the Deaf Health Pathways, a medical student elective at the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry, which focuses on health Disparities in the Deaf community and teaching American Sign Language. Through this role, Dr. Rotoli hopes to have a positive influence on students early in their careers in caring for Deaf ASL users, who are a linguistic and cultural minority.

Dr. Rotoli joined ADIEM in 2016. Since joining, he has delivered annual didactic sessions on cultural awareness of an underrepresented population. In 2017, he founded the ADIEM Accommodations Committee which is intended to advocate for all people, both patient and provider, who require accommodations (physical, spatial, time, language, etc).



Anika Backster, MD
Development Officer

Anika Backster, MD, MSCR is an Assistant Professor at Emory University Hospital, Department of Emergency Medicine. She is the co-chair of the Women in Medicine and the Diversity & Inclusion Committee (EDIC) at Emory University. Dr. Backster graduated from University of Illinois at Chicago/School of Public Health medical school in 2008. She also has a master’s in clinical research, which allows her to utilize her creativity and organizational skills.