• Bernard L. Lopez, MD, MS

    Associate Provost for Diversity and Inclusion; Associate Dean for Diversity and Community Engagement

    Thomas Jefferson University

    Bernard L. Lopez, MD, MS, is Professor and Executive Vice Chair in the Department of Emergency Medicine at the Sidney Kimmel Medical College of Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia, PA. He received his Doctorate in Medicine from the Sidney Kimmel Medical College in 1986. He completed a residency training program in Emergency Medicine at Thomas Jefferson University Hospital in 1989. Since 2013, Dr. Lopez has served as the Associate Dean for Diversity and Community Engagement in the medical school, providing oversight of diversity and inclusion initiatives for faculty, graduate medical education and medical students. In January 2017, he added the title of Associate Provost for Diversity and Inclusion at Thomas Jefferson University, providing oversight and guidance for the ten colleges that make up the university.

  • 190214_JeffreyDruck_high-res - Jeff Druck
    Jeffrey P. Druck, MD


    University of Utah School of Medicine

    Jeff Druck, MD, is the Vice Chair for Faculty Advancement, DEI and Wellbeing of the Department of Emergency Medicine at the University of Utah School of Medicine, as well as being a Professor within the Department of Emergency Medicine. Dr. Druck grew up in Houston, Texas, went to Rice University for his undergraduate degree, received his MD degree from Baylor College of Medicine, and he completed his residency at the Denver Health Residency Program in Emergency Medicine. He is board certified in Emergency Medicine and has served as an oral examiner for ABEM for the past 14 years.

    Dr. Druck is an expert in emergency medicine education and in DEI, having served as the chair of his department’s DEI committee, an associate residency director, President of the school’s faculty senate, Student Affairs Dean, and Co-Director of the Office of Professional Excellence at the University of Colorado prior to his move to Utah.

    In addition to serving on the SAEM Board of Directors, Dr. Druck has served as President of the Academy for Diversity and Inclusion in Emergency Medicine (ADIEM) as well as Co-Chair of the SAEM Consensus conference on Racism in Emergency Medicine. He has served on SAEM’s Awards committee, Program Committee, Consultation Committee, the Faculty Development Committee, and previously directed the Chief Resident Forum. He can be found on LinkedIn at @JeffDruck

  • Sheryl Heron, MD, MPH

    Professor-Vice Chair, Associate Dean

    Emory University School of Medicine

    Sheryl L. Heron, MD, MPH, is a professor and vice-chair of faculty equity, engagement and empowerment in the department of emergency medicine, inaugural associate dean for community engagement, equity and inclusion and associate director of education and training for the injury prevention research center at Emory (IPRCE), Emory University School of Medicine. She is also a past chair of the emergency medicine section of the National Medical Association. Dr. Heron has received numerous awards including the Partnership Against Domestic Violence’s HOPE Award, the Women in Medicine Award from the Council of Concerned Women of the National Medical Association, the Gender Justice Award from the Commission on Family Violence, and was named a Hero of Emergency Medicine by the American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP). She was named the inaugural president of the Academy for Diversity & Inclusion in Emergency Medicine (ADIEM) of the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine and is an editor of two textbooks on diversity and inclusion in quality patient care in emergency medicine. Dr. Heron has lectured extensively on topics such as diversity, equity & inclusion as well as wellness and well-being in health care.