Home / About SAEM / Academies, Interest Groups, & Affiliates / AGEM / Grants & Awards / Grant Opportunities for Geriatric EM Research / Beeson


The Paul B. Beeson Emerging Leaders in Career Development Award in Aging is a K76 award from the National Institute on Aging intended to develop of a cadre clinically trained early-stage investigators who have begun to establish research careers and have shown signs of leadership potential who can have a significant impact on the health of older individuals in their field of expertise. The award currently provides $225,000 annually in direct costs for 5 years. Many emergency physicians have previously held or currently hold this award.


EM Beeson Awardees:

2022 – Katie Buck, MD

Establishing and Implementing Pneumonia Diagnosis in ED Older Adults: A Mixed Methods Approach


2020 - Kei Ouchi, MD, MPH

ED GOAL: An Advance Care Planning Intervention for Seriously Ill Older Adults in the Emergency Department


2019 – Elizabeth Goldberg, MD

GAPcare II: The Geriatric Acute & Post-acute Care Coordination Program for Fall Prevention in the Emergency Department


2016 – Tony Rosen, MD MPH

Identifying Injury Patterns Diagnostic of Physical Elder Abuse


2013 – Emmy Betz, MD

Physician Screening of Older Drivers: Decision Rules for Geriatric Injury Prevention


2011- Adit Ginde, MD, MPH

Vitamin D and Immunosenescence in Older Long Term Care Facility Residents


2010 - Jeffrey Caterino, MD MPH

Expanding Anti-Microbial Stewardship for Long-Term Care Facility Patients


2006 – Manish Shah, MD MPH

Screening and Interventions in an Acute Care Setting