AGEM Pioneer Award

Home / About SAEM / Academies, Interest Groups, & Affiliates / AGEM / Grants & Awards / AGEM Awards / AGEM Pioneer Award


At the AGEM 10th anniversary celebration, AGEM recognized Pioneers of Geriatric Emergency Medicine. Please join us in congratulation these outstanding individuals who helped build the specialty into what it is today!

Manish Shah, MD
University of Wisconsin

Tess Hogan, MD
University of Chicago 

Ula Hwang, MD
Yale University

Chris Carpenter, MD
Washington University

With special recognition to the following individuals for their contributions to establish geriatric emergency medicine as a specialty:
Art Sanders, Lowell Gerson, Scott Wilber and Jeff Jones