The Gerson-Sanders Award

Home / About SAEM / Academies, Interest Groups, & Affiliates / AGEM / Grants & Awards / AGEM Awards / The Gerson-Sanders Award


Gerson-Sanders Award

The AGEM Gerson Sanders Award is named in honor of Drs. Lowell Gerson and Arthur Sanders, leaders and pioneers in the championing of geriatric emergency care through their research, support of the subspecialty, and mentorship of junior investigators.  The award recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to improving care for older adults in emergency medicine. Each awardee is is given a unique work of art, designed and created by Francine Gerson, which reflects each recipient's personal interest and contribution to geriatric emergency medicine. 


Sue Zieman, MD, PhD, National Institute on Aging 

Don Melady, MD, University of Toronto 

Ula Hwang, MD, MPH, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Manish N. Shah, MD, MPH, University of Wisconsin School of Medicine & Public Health

Teresita M Hogan MD, University of Chicago

Christopher R. Carpenter, MD, MSc, Professor, Emergency MedicineWashington University in St. Louis

Nancy Lundebjerg, Chief Executive Officer of the American Geriatrics Society (AGS)

Jennie Chin Hansen, American Geriatrics Society Chief Executive Officer

Basil Eldadeh, Supervisory Medical Officer, Division of Geriatrics and Clinical Gerontology, National Institute on Aging

Donna Regenstreif, former Senior Program Officer, John A. Hartford Foundation

Douglas Miller, Associate Director, Indiana University Center for Aging Care Research

Janis Eisner, Administrative Coordinator for the Dennis W. Jahnigen Career Development Award