Clerkship Coordinator of the Year Award

Home / About SAEM / Academies, Interest Groups, & Affiliates / CDEM / About CDEM / CDEM Awards / Clerkship Coordinator of the Year Award


This award recognizes an Emergency Medicine Clerkship Coordinator that has made significant contributions to either a 3rd or 4th year rotation.  Competitive candidates should model professionalism, display a dedication to the field of emergency medicine, and exhibit a passion for the education and support of medical students. To be eligible for this award, the nominee must currently be a Clerkship Coordinator of a mandatory, selective or elective rotation and have served in that role for a minimum of 5 years. The person nominating must be a member of CDEM. This award is presented at the annual CDEM meeting. Self nominations are accepted.

All nomination packets must include:

  1. Letter of support from nominator specifying which award the candidate is being nominated for and how the nominee fulfills the award criteria. (limit 2 pages)
  2. What is the relationship of the nominator to the nominee (Chairman, Residency Director, Clerkship Director etc.) 
  3. Nominations may also include other supporting documentation, such as a detailed description of curricular innovations, teaching evaluations, letters of support from colleagues, supervisor or students, funded grant or project applications, and publications. The nomination pockets are reviewed and ranked numerically for each award.

If you have any questions about the CDEM awards process, please contact