The Clerkship Directors in Emergency Medicine (CDEM) is the national organization representing undergraduate medical education in emergency medicine. CDEM was formed in 2008 and became the first Academy of the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM). CDEM is comprised of medical student educators who are committed to enhancing medical student education within our specialty.

Our Mission

  • To advance the education of medical students as it pertains to the specialty of emergency and acute care medicine
  • To serve as a unified voice for EM clerkship directors and medical student educators on a national level
  • To provide a forum for EM clerkship directors and medical student educators to communicate, share ideas, and generate solutions for common problems
  • To foster undergraduate medical education research and provide a platform for collaboration
  • To foster the professional development and career satisfaction of EM clerkship directors and medical student educators
  • To foster relationships with other organizations to promote medical education

2024-2025 CDEM Executive Committee


Keme Carter, MD


Amy Cutright, MD


Bradley S. Hernandez, MD


Alejandro Palma, MD

Immediate Past President:

Joseph B. House, MD


Jennifer Carey, MD

David Tillman, MD

Navdeep Sekhon, MD

Jose V. Nable, MD


Staff Liaison:
Juana Espinoza Vazquez