AEUS Executive Committee

Home / About SAEM / Academies, Interest Groups, & Affiliates / AEUS / About AEUS / AEUS Executive Committee


2024-2025 AEUS Executive Committee

President: Petra Duran-Gehring, MD

President-Elect: Meera Muruganandan, MD

Treasurer: Andrew Goldsmith, MD, MBA

Secretary: Maya Lin, MD

Immediate Past President: Christopher Thom, MD, RDMS

Research Officer: Youyou Duanmu, MD, MPH

Education Officer: Jason Arthur, MD, MPH


2023-2024 AEUS Executive Committee


  • ThomChristopher - Christopher Thom
    Christopher Thom, MD, RDMS


    University of Virginia

    Dr. Thom is an Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine at the University of Virginia. He is the Director of Emergency Ultrasound, the Ultrasound Fellowship Director, and an Assistant Residency Director at UVA. He graduated medical school from University of Virginia in 2010, completed Emergency Medicine residency training at Virginia Commonwealth University in 2013, and then completed his Emergency Ultrasound fellowship at Thomas Jefferson University in 2014. Dr. Thom is involved in ultrasound teaching at all levels of medical education and his interests include musculoskeletal ultrasound applications, early pregnancy ultrasound, and point of care ultrasound coding and billing. His work experience prior to medical school included time as a hang gliding instructor and the sport remains a hobby during the warmer months.

  • Petra Duran-Gehring, MD


    University of Florida-Jacksonville

    Dr. Duran-Gehring is an Associate Professor in the Department of Emergency Medicine at the University of Florida in Jacksonville, where she started the Emergency Ultrasound program in 2008 as the sole ultrasound faculty member after working in community practice where she saw firsthand how POCUS can improve patient care. Dr. Duran-Gehring has since expanded the program to house an accredited Advanced Emergency Medicine Ultrasonography (AEMUS) fellowship and to win management awards from the Clinical Ultrasound Accreditation Program. She has lectured nationally and has a passion for medical education, as evidenced by numerous teaching awards and course directorships. She was awarded the AEUS Scholarship to attend the SAEM ARMED MedEd program, which resulted in grant funding and national presentations on virtual ultrasound education. She has previously served the Academy of Emergency Ultrasound (AEUS) as Secretary and as a SonoGames Round 2 Station Design Lead, is a member of the Society of Clinical Ultrasound Fellowships (SCUF) Board of Directors, and has been a speaking coach for the SCUF national conference. She is on the leadership team for the ACEP/SAEM joint national journal club, Probing the Literature and the ACEP AEMUS Review Course. When not teaching ultrasound, she loves spending time outdoors and at the soccer field with her husband and three boys.

  • Yiju Teresa Liu, MD

    Past President


    Dr. Liu is an Associate Clinical Professor of Emergency Medicine and Co-Director of the Emergency Ultrasound Fellowship at Harbor-UCLA. She has served in multiple leadership roles throughout the emergency ultrasound community, including President of AEUS from 2022-2023.

  • Maya Lin, MD


    NYU Department of Emergency Medicine

    Dr. Lin is the Ultrasound Division Director and Ultrasound Fellowship Director at the NYU Department of Emergency Medicine. She attended medical school at St. George's University, followed by emergency medicine residency at NYP-Brooklyn Methodist and ultrasound fellowship at Northshore University Hospital. She is passionate about fellow education, ultrasound guided nerve blocks, and women in medicine. She grew up as an expat in Tokyo, Taipei, and Shanghai, and has graduated over 52 ultrasound fellows. Her hobbies include backpack traveling, pilates, foodie, electronica, and organic gardening and composting. 

  • Liang Liu


    Emory University

    Dr. E. Liang Liu is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Emergency Medicine and Ultrasound Fellowship Director at Emory University. She is a graduate of the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School and completed residency training in emergency medicine at the University of Texas Southwestern/Parkland Health & Hospital System, where she served as a chief resident. She is fellowship trained in Emergency Disaster and Global Health (EDGH) and Emergency Ultrasound. Dr. Liu is actively involved in teaching, supervision, and mentorship of medical students, residents, and fellows. Her interests include graduate medical education with a particular focus on ultrasound education, educational innovations, and the developoment of emergency medicine worldwide.

  • Arthur - Jason Arthur
    Jason Arthur, MD, MPH

    Education Officer

    University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

    Dr. Arthur is an Associate Professor in the Department of Emergency Medicine and the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences. Dr. Arthur completed his Emergency Medicine residency at the University of Florida College of Medicine-Jacksonville and his Emergency Ultrasound fellowship at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences. He serves as the Fellowship Director for the Emergency Ultrasound Fellowship and the Co-Director for the Pediatric Emergency Ultrasound Fellowship. Dr. Arthur is passionate about medical education and has lectured locally, regionally, and nationally. He has previously served as the AEUS webmaster, SonoGames judge, a SonoGames Round 2 Station Director, and as SonoGames Round 1 Lead. When not teaching, Dr. Arthur enjoys reading about history and traveling with his wife, son, and dog.

  • Frances Russell, MD

    Research Officer

    Indiana University

    Dr. Russell received her medical degree from the University of Wisconsin and finished emergency medicine residency at the University of Connecticut. After residency she traveled to Chicago for an Emergency Ultrasound Fellowship at Cook County Hospital. She joined the emergency medicine faculty at Indiana University in 2013 and currently serves as the Ultrasound Research Director. She previously served as the Ultrasound Division Chief, Clinical Ultrasound Fellowship Director, and as Co-Director for the Educational Ultrasound Initiative for Indiana University School of Medicine. Her research interests include medical education and cardiovascular ultrasound research.


2022-2023 AEUS Executive Committee 

  • President - Yiju Teresa Liu, MD
  • President-Elect - Christopher Thom, MD, RDMS
  • Past President - Lindsay Taylor, MD, RDMS, RDCS, RVT
  • Education Officer - K. Meera Muruganadan, MD
  • Research Officer - Frances Russell, MD
  • Secretary - Petra Duran-Gehring, MD
  • Treasurer - Emberlynn Liang Liu, MD

Staff Liaison:
Melissa McMillian, CNP


2021-2022 AEUS Executive Committee

President: Lindsay Taylor, MD, RDMS, RDCS, RVT
President-Elect: Yiju Teresa Liu, MD 
Treasurer: Christopher D Thom, MD, RDMS
Secretary: Petra Duran-Gehring, MD
Immediate Past President: Robert David Huang, MD
Research Officer: Daniel Theodoro, MD, MSCI
Education Officer:  K. Meera Muruganadan, MD MP

Staff Liaison:
Melissa McMillian, CNP