AACEM Awards

Nomination Submission Form: Closed 

Nominations for 2025 award recipients OPEN NOVEMBER 2024 and CLOSE DECEMBER 2024.

AACEM is committed to the goal of recognizing members who have contributed in a significant way through their talents and commitment to the organization.

Distinguished Service Award

The AACEM Distinguished Service Award is the highest recognition given to a Chair who has brought honor and distinction to AACEM by displaying outstanding leadership in the building of a strong society through their significant contributions to the advancement of academic emergency medicine through leadership, education, research, clinical care, administration, public and professional service, and/or civic duties on behalf of Academic Chairs of Emergency Medicine.

Lifetime Service Award

The Lifetime Service Award is given to an AACEM member who has contributed to the advancement for academic Chairs and made outstanding, nationally recognized contributions to the Association of Academic Chairs in Academic Emergency Medicine, over the course of his or her career.

Award Eligibility

You must be an AACEM member in good standing, i.e., up to date membership dues.

Award Selection Process
  • The AACEM Executive Committee will review award nominations to determine eligibility.
  • The AACEM Executive Committee reserves the right not to bestow an award in any given year if the nominees don’t fulfill the requirements.
  • The AACEM Executive Committee may contact a nominator/nominee as needed to seek additional information or clarification.
AACEM Award Info:

Distinguished Service Award (This was previously called the Lifetime Achievement Award. The name was changed in 2016)

2024David P. Sklar, MD, FACEP
2023Francis L. Counselman, MD, CPE, FACEP
Robert W. Neumar, MD, PhD
2022Gail D'Onofrio, MD
2021Donald M. Yealy, MD
2020Jill M. Baren, MD, MS, MBA
2019Gregory A. Volturo, MD
2018Gabor D. Kelen, MD
2017Andy Jagoda, MD
2016Brian J. Zink, MD
2015William Barsan, MD 
(Lifetime Achievement Award)

Lifetime Service Award (This award was created in 2016 by Greg Volturo and it has only been given four times)

2024Gregory A. Volturo, MD, FACEP
2023Sandra M. Schneider, MD, FACEP
2022Corey M. Slovis, MD
2016Harvey W. Meislin, MD