AACEM Executive Committee

2022-2023 AACEM Executive Committee

  • Richard J. Hamilton, MD, MBA


    Drexel University College of Medicine


  • Lewis S. Nelson, MD


    New Jersey Medical School


  • Jane H. Brice, MD, MPH


    University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine


  • Deborah B. Diercks, MD, MSc

    Research Learning Series Panelist

    UT Southwestern Medical Center


    Deborah Diercks is Professor and Chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine at UT Southwestern Medical Center. She holds the Audre and Bernard Rapoport Distinguished Chair in Clinical Care and Research.  A nationally recognized leader in the specialty, Dr. Diercks oversees the emergency medicine programs at Parkland Memorial Hospital and UT Southwestern University Hospitals, which together constitute one of the largest emergency medicine programs in the nation. 

    After receiving her undergraduate degree in microbiology and immunology from the University of California, Berkeley, Dr. Diercks attended Tufts University School of Medicine. She completed her residency in emergency medicine at the University of Cincinnati and joined the faculty of the University of California, Davis, where she was a major contributor to the growth and development of its emergency medicine programs. She also holds a master’s degree from the Harvard University School of Public Health. 

    Dr. Diercks has received funding from the National Institutes of Health, among other sources, for research on early management of acute coronary syndromes, the influence of gender on symptom characteristics, and utilization of cardiac biomarkers. She is active on numerous ACEP committees. She has held numerous leadership positions within the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine and was presented the Society’s 2014 Advancement of Women in Academic Emergency Medicine Award. Additionally, Dr. Diercks is a Associate Editor of the Circulation and Academic Emergency Medicine. In 2018-2021 she was included in D Magazine's Best Doctors list. 

  • Ian B.K. Martin, MD, MBA


    Medical College of Wisconsin


  • Rawle Seupaul
    Rawle Anthony Seupaul, MD


    University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

2021-2022 AACEM Executive Committee

  • President- Deborah B. Diercks, MD, MSc UT Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas
  • President-Elect- Richard J. Hamilton, MD Drexel University College of Medicine
  • Secretary-Treasurer- Lewis S. Nelson, MD Rutgers New Jersey Medical School
  • Immediate Past President- Peter Sokolove, MD University of California, San Francisco
  • Members-at-Large:
    • Jane H. Brice, MD, MPH University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine
    • Ian B.K. Martin, MD, MBA Medical College of Wisconsin