SAEM Residents and Medical Students (RAMS) presents awards in recognition of excellence in our field by emergency medicine residents and medical students. Congratulations to all award recipients!

2020 RAMS Award Winners

RAMS Leadership in Emergency Medicine Award

  • Omar Z. Maniya MD, MBA, The Mount Sinai Hospital 
  • Abraham Akbar, Baylor College of Medicine 

RAMS Excellence in Research Award

  • Patrick D. Tyler, MD, Harvard Medical School/Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center 

RAMS Innovative Educator Award

  • Cleavon Gilman, MD, New York Presbyterian

SAEM19 Presentation Award Winners

SAEM19 Best Young Investigator Presentation:

  • Marc Probst, Mt. Sinai School of Medicine, Risk-stratification of Older Adults who Present to the Emergency Department with Syncope: The FAINT Score

SAEM19 Best Medical Student Presentation: 

  • Nella Hendley, Wake Forest University, Sex and Race Differences in Safety and Effectiveness of a Chest Pain Accelerated Diagnostic Protocol

SAEM19 Best Resident Presentation: 

  • Louis Yu, UC San Francisco, Aortic/Great Vessel Injury in the Pan-scan Era

SAEM19 Best Fellow Presentation: 

  • Jonathan D. Casey, Vanderbilt University, Bag-Mask Ventilation during Tracheal Intubation of Critically Ill Adults

SAEM19 Best Faculty Presentation: 

  • Jeffrey Perry, University of Ottawa, A Prospective Cohort Study to Validate the Canadian TIA Score to Characterize Risk for Subsequent Stroke in Transient Ischemic Attack Patients

SAEM19 Best Basic Science Presentation: 

  • David H. Jang, MD, MSc FACMT University of Pennsylvania, In vitro comparison of hydroxocobalamin and mitochondrial-directed therapy in a cell model of cyanide poisoning

SAEM19 RAMS Leadership Award:

  • Sriram Venkatesan, Sri Ramachandra Institute of Higher Education and Research, India

SAEM19 RAMS Innovative Educator Award:

  • Jennifer Lee, MD, Harbor-UCLA Medical Center

SAEM19 RAMS Research Award:

  • Lauren Maloney, MD, Stony Brook University Hospital