Advanced Research Methodology Evaluation and Design (ARMED) Scholarship

Purpose: SAEM seeks three enthusiastic senior residents or fellows who demonstrate early interest in pursuing a research-oriented career to attend the ARMED course in 2020-21. Through the course, the recipient will have access to online lectures by research experts throughout the year and be expected to attend 3 live workshops. To offset costs associated with attendance at the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM) Annual Meeting (May 11-14, 2021, Atlanta, GA) and the ARMED course workshops, the scholarship award winner will have their tuition ($950) waived and be reimbursed up to $1000 for the costs of registration, travel, and housing.

Number of applicants accepted: 3

Application Process: 1 page letter of intent discussing the applicant’s reasons for applying and a brief overview of the research topic they would like to present. Current curriculum vitae and contact information. Letter of support from the applicant’s program director or chair assuring the applicant the time off from rotations to attend the ARMED course workshops if chosen. Submit application to by July 31st. Award announcements will be made by August 16th.

Eligibility: Applicant must be a member of SAEM and be able to attend all scheduled course workshops (online and in-person). Scholarship recipients will be required to submit a research project to be presented at the SAEM annual meeting following completion of the course. Awardees will also be expected to write a reflection on their experience taking the ARMED course, to be published on SAEM’s website. 

Selection Criteria: Three applicants will receive the scholarships per year.

Award: $1000 scholarship per awardee

Application Deadline: Applications are now closed.

About SAEM: The Annual Meeting of the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM) is the premier venue for research and educational innovation in emergency medicine. SAEM brings together academic emergency medicine physicians from many regions to a single location to advance the knowledge of the specialty. This year’s meeting will be May 11-14 in Atlanta.

2019-2020 Scholarship Recipients!

Bennett Lane

Bennett Lane, MD
University of Cincinnati

Craig Nowadly

Craig D. Nowadly, MD
University of California, Davis



2018-2019 Scholarship Recipients!


    Cosby Arnold, MD            Jinny J. Ye, MD
          PGY-3                             PGY-3
University of Tennessee      Duke University