The New Frontier: DEI Positions in Academic Emergency Medicine

As new diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) positions are created within departments and institutions within academic emergency medicine, guidance is needed with respect to needs assessment, the creation of DEI roles and associated expectations/ responsibilities, the role of DEI roles in the curriculum of our trainees, barriers to making an impact on diversity of our workforce, and other challenges common to these positions. During this interactive session, panelists will address these areas of need, and the session will include recommended practices and solutions around optimal use of DEI positions to address lack of diversity and racism in the emergency medicine workforce.

  • Tracy Madsen, MD, ScM

    Tracy Madsen, MD, ScM is the Associate Director of the Division of Sex and Gender in the Department of Emergency Medicine at the Alpert Medical School of Brown University and the current AWAEM President. After completing both her undergraduate and medical degrees at Boston University, she completed a residency in Emergency Medicine at Brown University followed by a 2-year research fellowship with a focus on sex and gender differences in acute aspects of disease during which she earned a Master's degree in Clinical and Translational Research. Dr. Madsen conducts research in the realm of sex and gender based medicine, neurologic emergencies, and disparities in the physician workforce. Currently funded by a K23 from the NHLBI, her research focuses on sex and gender differences in the epidemiology, outcomes, and acute treatment of stroke. She has established a national presence in the field of sex and gender differences in stroke as well as disparities in the emergency medicine workforce.
  • Jeffrey P. Druck, MD

    Assistant Dean for Student Affairs; Co-Director Office of Professional Excellence

    University of Colorado School of Medicine

    Dr. Jeff Druck grew up in Houston but moved to Colorado for residency in Emergency Medicine at Denver Health. As Associate Program Director, he co-founded the Denver Health Diversity Committee, pioneering recruiting efforts of diverse residents which have served as a road map for residencies in all specialties. Currently, he serves at the University of Colorado as Assistant Dean of Student Affairs and Co-Director of the Office of Professional Excellence, and current president of the Academy for Diversity and Inclusion for Emergency Medicine; however, his most important role is as a father to four children, where he sometimes does admirably and other times comes in under the bar.
  • Esther K. Choo, MD MPH

    Professor in the Center for Policy and Research in Emergency Medicine

    Oregon Health & Science University

    Esther Choo, MD MPH is a Professor in the Center for Policy and Research in Emergency Medicine at Oregon Health & Science University. She is an NIH-funded investigator, with expertise in drug policy, injury, and gender disparities in healthcare. She is a cofounder of Equity Quotient, a company that provides metrics of healthcare culture, a founding member for TIME'S UP Healthcare. She has a regular column in The Lancet focused on health disparities.
  • Alden M. Landry, MD, MPH

    Alden M. Landry, MD, MPH, is an Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine physician at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Assistant Dean for the Office for Diversity Inclusion and Community Partnership, Associate Director and Advisor for William B. Castle Society, and Director of Health Equity Education at Harvard Medical School. He also is the founder and co-director of the non-profit organization Motivating Pathways. Dr. Landry received his Bachelor of Science degree from Prairie View A&M University in 2002 and his medical degree from the University of Alabama Birmingham School of Medicine in 2006. He completed his residency in Emergency Medicine at the Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center in 2009. In 2010, he earned a Master’s in Public Health degree from the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health and completed the Commonwealth Fund Fellowship in Minority Health Policy at Harvard University.
  • Cassandra Bradby, MD

    Dr. Cassandra Bradby is an EM physician and Assistant Professor at Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University. As a graduate of Meharry Medical College in Nashville, TN, she has dedicated her career to improving diversity and inclusion in medicine through mentoring and education. After finishing up as the Education Chief Resident at SUNY Downstate in Brooklyn, NY, Dr. Bradby headed back south to Greenville, NC where she now serves as the Residency Program Director and Vice Chair for Diversity and Inclusion for the Department of Emergency Medicine at Vidant Medical Center.
  • Michelle Lall, MD

    Dr. Lall, a board-certified emergency medicine physician, is an Associate Professor at Emory University. She has been faculty at Emory since 2013 and served as an Associate Residency Director at Emory from 2013-2020. She continues to be the Director of the Medical Education Fellowship in Emergency Medicine. Prior to coming to Emory, Dr. Lall was an Assistant Professor at Wayne State University beginning in 2008. Dr. Lall is actively involved in graduate medical education, education research and scholarship, resident and faculty wellness and well-being. Additionally, she is interested in microaggressions and bias in medicine. Dr. Lall is the inaugural Director of Well-being, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion. She has been a leader in the Academy for Women in Academic Emergency Medicine since 2012. Her professional memberships include: American College of Emergency Physicians – where she is a fellow, Society for Academic Emergency Physicians – where she is a member at large on the Board of Directors, Academy for Women in Academic Emergency Medicine – where she is a past president. Dr. Lall is a recipient of the Momentum Award from the Academy for Women in Academic Emergency Medicine (AWAEM), which recognizes extraordinary efforts that further the mission and values of AWAEM. Dr. Lall has been recognized as a "Faculty Teacher of the Year" and “Resident Advocate” award winner.