SAEM Grant Writing Workshop

  • J. Scott VanEpps

    J. Scott VanEpps, MD, PhD


    University of Michigan

  • Joseph Miller, MD, MS

  • Jeremy Brown, MD

    National Institutes of Health (NIH)

    Jeremy Brown, MD is Director of the Office of Emergency Care Research at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). He also serves as NIH’s representative in government-wide efforts to improve emergency care throughout the country. He is the medical officer for the SIREN emergency care research network. He trained as an emergency medicine physician in Boston. Prior to joining NIH in 2013, he served as research director at George Washington University’s Department of Emergency Medicine. He founded the ED HIV screening program and was the recipient of three NIH grants which focused on a new therapy for renal colic. He is the author of over forty peer reviewed papers and four books, including two text books of emergency medicine published by Oxford University Press.
  • Andrew Monte, MD, PhD

    University of Colorado School of Medicine

    Andrew is trained as a medical toxicologist and has a PhD in Clinical Sciences with a focus in Genetics. He does research on novel psychoactive substances and precision medicine. He is the Director of the University of Colorado Emergency Medicine Specimen Bank which collects biologic samples from ED patients with a goal of improving emergency therapies through genomic and metabolomic methodologies. He is funded by institutional grants, NIGMS, the DoD, and NIDA.
  • Patrick M. Carter, MD

  • Phillip D. Levy, MD