SAEM Education Summit: Fish Tank—Expert Consult in Education Research

  • Jaime Jordan, MD

  • Stephen John Cico, MD, MEd

  • Michael Gottlieb, MD

    Michael Gottlieb, MD

    Rush University Medical Center

    Michael Gottlieb, MD, RDMS, is the Director of the Emergency Ultrasound Division and the Program Director for the Clinical Ultrasound Fellowship at Rush University Medical Center. He is also the co-creator and Chief Academic Officer for the Academic Life in Emergency Medicine (ALiEM) Faculty Incubator, as well as the Chair-Elect of the ACEP Ultrasound Section and Past-Chair of the AAEM Ultrasound Section. He has authored over 300 peer-reviewed publications and is an Editor for seven journals. He is Chair of the CORD Education Committee, Chair of the CORD Best Practices Subcommittee, Chair of the SAEM Education Summit, and a nationally-recognized speaker and educator. His academic interests include resident education, with a focus on ultrasound and procedural training.

  • Sally Santem, MD, PhD

    Sally Santen, MD, PhD

    Sally Santen, MD, PhD, is professor of emergency medicine and medical education at the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine and vice-chair of education research in the department of medical education. She is the senior associate dean, assessment, evaluation, and scholarship and professor of emergency medicine at Virginia Commonwealth School of Medicine. Previously she was an assistant dean at the University of Michigan Medical School and Emory School of Medicine. 

    Dr. Santen earned her MD from the George Washington University School of Medicine and completed a residency in emergency medicine at the George Washington/Georgetown hospitals. As a junior faculty at Vanderbilt University, she earned a PhD in education. 

    Dr Santen is the recipient of several awards for her work in education, including the SAEM Hal Jayne Excellence in Education Award which recognizes outstanding contributions to emergency medicine through the teaching of others and the improvement of pedagogy.She is also a Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine® (ELAM) Program fellow

    Dr. Santen has published more than 200 papers, including over 30 papers in Academic Emergency Medicine, as well as perspectives inJAMA and New England Journal of Medicine. While at the University of Michigan, she was the co-principal investigator for the American Medical Association Accelerating Change in Medical Education grant. Dr. Santen was responsible for the evaluation of several NIH grants including, CTSA, T32, R25, and PREP. She is currently the evaluator for a Virginia Department of Health grant and a Health Resources and Services Administration well-being grant. She is an evaluation and scholarship consultant for the American Medical Association Accelerating Change in Medical Education consortium.

  • Lisa Moreno-Walton, MD, MS, MSCR

    Louisiana State University- New Orleans

    Dr. Lisa Moreno is Professor of Emergency Medicine, Director of Research, Diversity, and the Latino Scholars Program at Louisiana State University- New Orleans. She is President-elect of the American Academy of Emergency Medicine and an NIH Research Scholar. Her multiple awards include the SAEM Martin Leadership Award, Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Professionalism Award, CORD Distinguished Educator Award, ADIEM Outstanding Academician Award, AAMC Healthcare Executive Diversity & Inclusion Certificate, and the Order of the IFEM. The recipient of many research grants, Prof. Moreno has over 500 academic presentations, 45 publications, 6 book chapters, and 2 textbooks. Her research interests include diversity and healthcare disparities, violence prevention and treatment, and viral diseases. She has mentored over 350 students, residents and junior faculty around the world. A global health consultant and educator, she has served in over 25 countries, focusing on the development of research and elimination of healthcare disparities for women, underrepresented minorities, and the under-resourced