RAMS: The Inside Scoop on Academic Jobs

How do you navigate the academic job market in the era of COVID-19? Join us for a live webinar and hear from academic EM department chairs from around the country on how they are hiring in this current climate. We will review how academic departments are adapting to the new economics of EM during COVID, and what they look for in new academic EM physicians.
  • Chadwick Miller

    Professor and Chair Department of Emergency Medicine

    Wake Forest School of Medicine

    Dr. Chadwick (Chad) Miller is the Chair of Emergency Medicine, and Executive Director of Emergency Services at Wake Forest Baptist Health. In this role, he oversees the academic, clinical, and administrative missions of the department, which includes the care delivered to over 700,000 annual emergency visits across 16 emergency departments in the piedmont triad. Dr. Miller’s research focuses on the mission to advance care for patients with cardiovascular emergencies by simultaneously improving clinical outcomes while reducing resource utilization. At Wake Forest, he directs the Critical Illness, Injury, and Recovery Research Center (CIIRRC), the Southeastern Clinical Center for the NIH funded PETAL Network, and currently serves as the lead investigator on a clinical trial supported by the NIH evaluating new methods to evaluate patients with chest pain presenting to the Emergency Department. Dr. Miller graduated from Youngstown State University and Northeastern Ohio Universities College of Medicine through a combined BS/MD program. He completed residency training in emergency medicine at The Ohio State University and served as a chief resident, which he completed in 2003. Since 2003, Dr. Miller has worked for the Wake Forest University School of Medicine, Department of Emergency Medicine. He received his Master of Science degree with a major in Clinical and Population Translational Sciences at Wake Forest University in 2009, and has served in several leadership roles in the Department prior to being named Chair, including Assistant Residency Director, Director of Clinical Research, Executive Vice Chair, and Interim Chair.
  • Ian B.K. Martin, MD, MBA


    Medical College of Wisconsin

  • Angela M. Mills, MD

    SAEM President / SAEMF Member-at-Large

    Columbia University Vagelos

    Angela M. Mills, MD is the J. E. Beaumont Professor and Chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine at Columbia University College of Physicians & Surgeons and Chief of Emergency Services for New York-Presbyterian | Columbia. Dr. Mills graduated Summa Cum Laude from Muhlenberg College and with Alpha Omega Alpha distinction from Temple University Medical School.

    Dr. Mills is a graduate and former Chief Resident of the EM residency program at University of Pennsylvania. She became a faculty member immediately thereafter and advanced academically being promoted to Professor of Emergency Medicine in 2017. At Penn, Dr. Mills served in several capacities including Medical Director and as Vice Chair of Clinical Operations. She joined Columbia in January 2018 as inaugural Chair of the newly formed department. 

    Dr. Mills has maintained an active research career focusing on emergency diagnostic imaging, clinical operations, and the evaluation of undifferentiated abdominal pain. She has authored over 95 scientific publications and received research funding from both federal agencies and industry. 

    Dedicated to combining scholarship with mentoring, Dr. Mills is strongly committed to education and has influenced the careers of numerous junior faculty and trainees. Dr. Mills serves on many national and local committees and is an elected member of the Board of Directors of the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM). 

    Dr. Mills was recently honored with two prestigious awards: the Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award from SAEM and the Mid-Career Award from the Academy for Women in Academic Emergency Medicine.

  • Peter Sokolove, MD

    Professor and Chair

    University of California, San Francisco School of Medicine

  • David Wright, MD

    Dr. Wright, is a tenured Professor and the Chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine at Emory University School of Medicine. He is a board certified emergency medicine physician practicing at Emory affiliated hospitals and Grady Memorial Hospital, Atlanta’s premier Level 1 Trauma Center. He is actively involved in both the preclinical and clinical assessments of traumatic brain injury, stroke and other acute neurological conditions. He was the PI of the ProTECT III multicenter clinical trial of progesterone for acute traumatic brain injury and serves as the southeastern Hub PI of the Neurological Emergencies Treatment Trials network, Co-PI of the Georgia StrokeNet network, and Hub PI for the newly funded Strategies To Innovate Emergency Care Clinical Trials Network (SIREN). He has extensive clinical trial leadership and operational experience. He holds Adjunct appointments in the Department of Biomedical Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology, Rollins School of Public Health, and the Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing.
  • Andrew Starnes

    Dr Starnes graduated from the University of Oklahoma, receiving an MD and MPH. His area of focus in public health was health administration and policy, and he has been active in research regarding resource utilization and outcomes in the emergency department and prehospital setting. He was a member of the inaugural RAMS Board of Directors as a Member-at-Large, and was Secretary-Treasurer before serving as RAMS President for 2020-2021. He is currently a PGY-2 a Wake Forest School of Medicine, and when not working he enjoys gardening, cooking, and camping as much as possible with his wife and three children.