The Gerson Sanders Award

The AGEM Gerson Sanders Award is named in honor of Drs. Lowell Gerson and Arthur Sanders, leaders and pioneers in the championing of geriatric emergency care through their research, support of the subspecialty, and mentorship of junior investigators.  The award recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to improving care for older adults in emergency medicine. Each awardee is is given a unique work of art, designed and created by Francine Gerson, which reflects each recipient's personal interest and contribution to geriatric emergency medicine. 


Ula Hwang, MD, MPH, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai


Manish N. Shah, MD, MPH, Professor of Emergency Medicine, Population Health Sciences, and Geriatrics, and The John & Tashia Morgridge Chair of Emergency Medicine Research, University of Wisconsin School of Medicine & Public Health


Teresita M Hogan MD, Associate Professor of Medicine, Section of Emergency Medicine and Geriatrics and Palliative Care, University of Chicago


Christopher R. Carpenter, MD, MSc, Professor, Emergency MedicineWashington University in St. Louis


Nancy Lundebjerg, Chief Executive Officer of the American Geriatrics Society (AGS)


Jennie Chin Hansen, American Geriatrics Society Chief Executive Officer


Basil Eldadeh, Supervisory Medical Officer, Division of Geriatrics and Clinical Gerontology, National Institute on Aging


Donna Regenstreif, former Senior Program Officer, John A. Hartford Foundation


Douglas Miller, Associate Director, Indiana University Center for Aging Care Research


Janis Eisner, Administrative Coordinator for the Dennis W. Jahnigen Career Development Award