Gerson-Sanders Award

2019 Winner 

The Academy of Geriatric Emergency Medicine is pleased to present the 2019 Gerson Sanders award to Ula Hwang! This award  recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to improving care for older adults in emergency medicine. Ula is a Professor of Medicine at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York. Ula received the Jahnigen Career Development Award in 2005 to evaluate older adult pain management in the chaotic emergency department environment and subsequently began exploring the concept of a "geriatric emergency department" that became the intellectual basis for subsequent guidelines and accreditation efforts. She serves as Primary Investigator of the CMS demonstration project Geriatric Emergency Department Innovations in Care through Workforce, Informatics, and Structure Enhancements (GEDI-WISE).  Dr. Hwang has served as SAEM Academy of Geriatric Emergency Medicine President and currently leads the Geriatric Emergency Care Applied Research Network. Ula Hwang won this award in 2020 due to her unwavering commitment to geriatric emergency medicine and will surely be leading the charge in years to come for quality care for our older adults. 

Previous Gerson-Sanders Award Winners