ADIEM 2018 Award Recipients

Marcus L. Martin Leadership Award

To be awarded annually to an individual who has made significant and sustained contributions to the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine's (SAEM) missions:

to promote and attain diversity within emergency medicine residencies and the overall physician workforce and

to improve patient care by advancing research and education in emergency medicine.

2018 Recipient: Ian B.K. Martin, MD, MBA

Professional Picture UNC arms folded

Visionary Educator Award 

To be presented annually to an individual that has demonstrated an extraordinary impact on the academic success of students or residents from under-represented minority groups.

2018 Recipient: Lisa Moreno-Walton, MD, MS


Outstanding Academician Award

To be presented annually to an individual who by virtue of their scholarship has addressed health disparities in EM and/or promoted cultural competency and diversity in the workplace.

2018 Recipient: Alden Landry, MD, MPH

AML Headshot

ADIEM Ally Award

2018 Recipient: Elise Lovell, MD

lovell web pic