Independent NIH Awards

Home / About SAEM / Academies, Interest Groups, & Affiliates / AGEM / Grants & Awards / Grants Funded in Geriatric Emergency Medicine / Independent NIH Awards

While not a complete list, this illustrates the success of emergency physicians in obtaining funding to investigate a broad range of research topics in the acute care of older adults.


Jeff Caterino, MD: R01 – Urinary Infections in Older Adults


Manish Shah, MD, MPH: R01 - Paramedic-coached ED Care Transitions to Help Older Adults Maintain their Health

Manish Shah, MD MPH: R03 - Deriving a Pre-hospital Triage Decision Scheme for Injured Older Adults

Learn more about opportunities for NIH/Public funding for geriatric EM research