Section 1

Show Menu

About SAEM Foundation

Section 1

Select a page in this section

The SAEM Foundation is a 501(c)(3) public charity.


The mission of the SAEM Foundation is to improve the emergency care of patients through medical research and scientific discovery; to enhance research capabilities within emergency medicine; and to help emergency physicians develop the skills to become successful investigators.

Board of Trustees 2016-2017

  • Deborah B. Diercks, MD, MSc, Chair, University of Texas Southwestern 
  •  D. Mark Courtney, MD, Vice-Chair, Northwestern University
  •  Steve Bird, MD, Secretary-Treasurer, University of Massachusetts Medical School
  • Jill M. Baren, MD, SAEM Past President, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine
  • Cherri D. Hobgood, MD, SAEM Past President, Indiana University School of Medicine
  • Louis Ling, MD, SAEM Past President, Hennepin County Medical Center
  • Michael D. Brown, MD, Member-at-Large, Michigan State University College of Human Medicine 
  • Andra L. Blomkalns, MD, Member-at-Large, University of Texas Southwestern 
  • Amy H. Kaji, MD, PhD, Member-at-Large, Harbor-UCLA Medical Center
  • William Barsan, MD, Foundation Development Committee Chair, University of Michigan
  • Martin Reznek, MD, Finance Committee Chair, Wayne State University
  • Roland Merchant, MD, Grants Committee Chair, Brown University/Rhode Island Hospital