AWAEM “Hidden Gem” Award

To honor female faculty members with outstanding contributions through clinical work, teaching, mentorship, role modeling, or administration, having great impact locally or regionally. This award is designed to recognize those whose significant but quiet contributions may escape recognition. We will select up to FIVE winners of this award.

2018 Recipients: Tania D. Strout, PhD, RN, MS Maine Medical Center; Regan Marsh, MD, MPH, Massachusetts General Hospital/Brigham & Women's Hospital; Alisa Hayes, MD (University of Missouri); Cassandra Bradby, MD, East Carolina University

Eligibility criteria:

  • Female EM faculty member in academic department in Emergency Medicine
  • SAEM member

Selection criteria:

  • Evidence of dedication to academic EM through a consistent track record of outstanding clinical work, teaching, service, advocacy, research, or administration.

Required Documentation:

  • Nominee’s CV
  • One nomination letter detailing nominee’s impact. Nomination letter may be submitted by current or former colleagues, mentors, mentees or employers.


The nomination deadline for the 2017-2018 academic year has closed.  Instructions for the next academic year will return next fall or winter.