Section 1

Show Menu

SAEM Awards

Section 1

Select a page in this section

SAEM Awards

SAEM presents awards in recognition of excellence in our field, for contributions improving the health of society, and for academic achievements. 


Best Resident Researcher Award
Best Resident Educator Award
Arnold P. Gold Foundation Humanism in Medicine Award

View the 2016 SAEM Award Winners

Award Nominations

All nominations EXCEPT for the Medical Student Excellence in Emergency Medicine Award must be submitted electronically to If electronic signature is not available, please submit nomination electronically but provide one hard copy to the SAEM headquarters. (1111 E Touhy Avenue, Suite 540, Des Plaines, IL 60018). Click the award name for information on the award nominations process.

Selection Process

Nominees that are submitted will be reviewed by the Awards Committee and selected based on guidelines shown on the linked web page for each award. Pay special attention to these guidelines and especially to each submission's due date.

Annual Meeting Presentation Awards

SAEM also recognizes excellent performance and participation at the SAEM Annual Meeting. Award winners are personally recognized at the meeting the following year. Award categories are:

  • Best Basic Science Award
  • Best Faculty Award
  • Best Fellow Award
  • Best Medical Student Award 
  • Best Resident Award 
  • Best Young Investigator Presentation
  • Resident Visual Diagnosis Contest Winner (1st and 2nd places are recognized)
    To view past award recipients, please visit the Award Archives.