Section 1

Show Menu

Positions & Nominations Criteria

Section 1

Select a page in this section

Call for Nominations

SAEM Elected Positions 
EXTENDED Deadline: Monday, December 8, 2014

Nominations are sought for the SAEM Board of Directors election that will be held in the spring of 2015. The Nominating Committee will select a slate of nominees based on the following criteria: previous service to SAEM, leadership potential, interpersonal skills, and the ability to advance the broad interests of the membership and academic emergency medicine.
The Nominating Committee wishes to consider as many candidates as possible and whenever possible will select more than one nominee for each position. Nominations may be submitted by the candidate or any SAEM member. Nominations must be submitted to Monica White at in the following format: 

1.  Name:
  • Position nominated for: 

2.  Current academic position(s):
  • institution(s) 
  • academic appointment(s) 
  • other major administrative position(s), such as chair, director, dean, etc.

3.  Non-SAEM career accomplishments, such as awards, grants, leadership positions, etc. (100-word limit) 

4.  SAEM service :
  • member since - 
  • committee/task force/interest group membership 
  • leadership roles within SAEM (and when) 
  • elected positions (Board, Nominating Committee, Constitution and Bylaws Committee) 
  • list role in major contribution to SAEM products (e.g., author of X, developing Y, etc.) 

5.  Personal statement of what the candidate wants to do for SAEM, if elected (300-word limit) 
  • What have been your proudest accomplishments for SAEM? 
  • What are your goals for advancing the Society? 
  • What is your vision for the future of SAEM? 
  • Which needs of the membership do you wish to address? 
  • Personal comment to membership (optional) 

Nominations are sought for the following positions: 

President-elect:  The president-elect serves one year as president-elect, one year as president, and one year as past president.  Candidates are usually members of the Board of Directors. 

Secretary-Treasurer: The secretary-treasurer will be elected to a two-year term on the Board. Candidates are often members of the Board of Directors.
Board of Directors:
 Two members will be elected to three-year terms on the Board.  Candidates should have a track record of excellent service and leadership on SAEM committees and task forces.
Resident Board Member:  The resident member is elected to a one-year term.  Candidates must be a resident during the entire term on the Board (May 2015-May 2016) and should demonstrate evidence of strong interest in and commitment to academic emergency medicine. Nominations should include a letter of support from the candidate’s residency director. 

Nominating Committee:  One member will be elected to a two-year term.  The Nominating Committee develops the slate of nominees for the elected positions. Candidates should have considerable experience and leadership on SAEM committees and task forces. 

Constitution and Bylaws Committee:  One member will be elected to a three-year term, the final year as the chair of the Committee.  The Committee reviews the Constitution and Bylaws and makes recommendations to the Board for amendments to be considered by the membership.  Candidates should have considerable experience and leadership on SAEM committees and task forces.

Nomination Procedures

1. Nominations are sought from the membership through advertisements in the SAEM Newsletter and on the SAEM website.  All members who respond to the call for nominations are considered by the Nominating Committee. 
2. Whenever possible, a slate of two or more candidates is presented to the membership for each position. In addition, each position is open for additional “write-in” candidates. 
3. The candidate statement regarding each nominee is prepared by the nominees themselves, only subject to word limits. 
4. Only active members whose 2015 annual dues have been paid will receive a ballot and are eligible to vote for all positions, except for the resident member.
5. Only resident members may vote for the resident member position.  Residents are not eligible to vote for other positions.
6. SAEM prides itself on having an open and non-political election process.  Attempts to garner support for specific candidates via mass emails, distribution of campaign materials, or similar strategies are strongly discouraged.  Such activities tend to distract members from focusing on each individual candidate’s qualifications, prior service, and potential to help further SAEM’s mission. 
7. Listed below are the current SAEM Board Members and their term expiration dates:
Robert Hockberger, MD, Harbor-UCLA Medical Center, President, term expiring 2015*
*Dr. Hockberger will automatically become immediate past president and his term will expire in 2016.
Deborah B. Diercks, MD, University of Texas Southwestern, President-Elect, term expiring in 2015*
*Dr. Diercks will automatically become the president and her term will expire in 2017.
Alan E. Jones, MD, The University of Mississippi Medical Center, Immediate Past President, term expiring in 2015
Andra L. Blomkalns, MD, University of Cincinnati College of Medicine, Secretary-Treasurer, term expiring in 2015
Kathleen Clem, MD, FACEP, Loma Linda University School of Medicine, Member-at-large, term expiring in 2016
D. Mark Courtney, MD, Northwestern, Member-at-large, term expiring in 2015
James F. Holmes, MD, University of California, Davis, Member-at-large, term expiring in 2015
Amy H. Kaji, MD, Los Angeles County-Harbor-UCLA Medical Center, Member-at-large, term expiring in 2016

Ian B.K. Martin, MD, University of North Carolina School of Medicine, Member-at-large, term expiring in 2017
Steven B. Bird, MD, University of Massachusetts Medical School, Member-at-large, term expiring in 2017
Lauren Hudak, MD, Emory University, Resident Member, term expiring in 2015